Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fuel Filter
Hey guys, (and girls too, if we have any flying Mosquito's) a heads up on the little glass fuel filters some of us are using. I was out flying yesterday and put some bad fuel in my XE3. The filter was clear on pre flight, so off I went. Got to the end of the runway and was climbing out when I got a master caution light. A quick look indicated #2 & 3 were spiking the EGT's, then the engine started to loose power. A quick trip down to the extended threshold and I was out looking for a clue. Lines full of air, and a little debris in the filter. Towed the copter to my hanger, pulled the fuel filter and found just a little debris had completely stopped up the micro mesh screen within the filter, couldn't get any fuel through it at all! Replaced the filter with a cheap automotive type and no further problems. So, if you have one of those little glass filters, lOOSE THE DAMN THING!
Skeeter
Skeeter,
I think your frustrations and passion have over ridden common sense because your post doesn't make sense, you're saying the filter did its job by keeping crude out of the carbs, and that when you replaced it you didn't have a problem (which is what I'd expect) - It would not have mattered what filter you were using if it got clogged up from bad gas its still clogged doesn't matter the brand. When you looked at the filter it was clear - had you been running the engine before you inspected it - probably not - so you didn't start the flow of gas and the potential to clog till it was running. Do you have both feeds from the fuel cell going into one filter or have two filters, one each side and did you change the filter out since installation
wouldnt it be simpler to use a screen as you fill each tank? thats what I do on my equipment.. that way im screening out any material before it goes in my tank.. seems to me the filter did its job..